MHS hosts district speech, earns numerous bids to state contest

Marshalltown High School hosted the Iowa High School Speech Association District Individual Speech Contest Saturday, Feb. 26, advancing 12 students to state.

The following students earned Division I ratings and will compete at state: Lauren Mills(After Dinner Speaking) was the lone freshman winner. Gwen Morrison (Literary Program and Acting), Maggie Halverson (Improvisation and Acting), Philip Kuhlman (Acting and Improvisation), and Annalisa Donahey (Poetry and Prose) will take two events to State Competition. Mallory McKay (Solo Musical Theatre), Tomi DeGrado (After Dinner Speaking), Becca Wunsch, Zoe Harris (Storytelling), Shellie Robinson (Prose), Jared Mills (Public Address), and James Lindgren (Radio) complete those who will go on to State Competition.

Coaches and contest managers were Cindy Rolfes-Eggers and Julie Bousum. Community members and students worked as room chairpersons and runners to facilitate the contest day.

The state contest is Saturday, March 12, at Vinton-Shellsburg High School in Vinton.