Marshalltown ensembles advance to State Large-Group Speech

Four groups from Marshalltown High School are advancing to the State Iowa High School Speech Association Large Group Contest on Feb. 4 as a result of District Competition in Grinnell on Jan. 20.

One group is readers theatre, At the Sound of the Tone, with Chika Onyeka, Emily Nordstrom, Jasmine Vore, Jordan Cline, Marissa Chase, Megan Rachuy, Sydney Davis, and Brennan Goodman. Another is Radio News, Weekend Update, includes Cody Johnson, Jared Mills, Marissa Chase, and Megan Rachuy. The ensemble acting Eleemosynary features Emilie Nyssen, Emily Nordstrum, and Natalie Heddens, while the fourth group is Welcome to a Nightmare with all freshmen members: Chandler Fisher, Cassidy Fisher, Allyson Biggs, Dahlia Fifo, Alex Herink, Kierra Carbajal, Sumeet Panchal, and Marisa Anderson. Senior Gwen Morrison directed the freshman group.

The following groups earned Division II ratings: Senior Choral Reading, Pecos Bill and Slue Foot Sue, with Brittany Ryerson, Cody Johnson, Jenny Brisson, Lisa Earney, Natalie Heddens, Randy Hanson, and Zeina El-Jahjah; and two group improvisation groups with Brennan Goodman, Hanna Carter, and Chika Onyeka, Emilie Nyssen, Lily Larsen. The coaches are Craig Luttrell and Julie Bousum.

Individual Speech Contest work starts soon. Students may take part in readings, acting and improv pieces, original speeches, memorized speeches, radio news, after dinner speaking, and storytelling. If students are interested in participating in competition Feb. 25, they should contact Coach Bousum at Marshalltown High School 754-1130.