Skip to Content

Nine MHS students advancing to State Speech

Nine MHS students are advancing to state after receiving Division I ratings at the Iowa High School Speech Association District Competition Feb. 25 at the Meskwaki Settlement School.

Students receiving Division I ratings were Chandler Fisher (literary program and storytelling), Gwen Morrison (storytelling and acting), Christian Kremer (spontaneous speaking and prose), Jared Mills (prose), Daniel Blom (spontaneous speaking), Emilie Nyssen (acting), Hanna Carter (poetry), Zakary Herink (poetry), and Lily Larsen (improvisation). All nine students are eligible to compete at State Contest on March 10 at Clinton.

Students who received Division II ratings are Daniel Blom (acting), Jared Mills (acting), Alex Herink (prose), Jasmine Vore (poetry), Cody Johnson (prose), and Elizabeth Drennon. The students are coached by Craig Luttrell and Julie Bousum