MHS garners numerous accolades at Iowa National History Day


Marshalltown High School had an outstanding showing at Iowa’s National History Day contest Monday, April 30, at the State Historical Museum in Des Moines, with every student taking home an award and some advancing to national competition.

The group performance by Susie Pratt, Ellen Podhajsky, Hannah Stone, “Carrie Chapman Catt: Leading the Woman’s Rights Revolution”, earned a bid to the national contest June 10-14 at the University of Maryland.

Runners-up in group documentary and also winners of the “Best of Iowa” and “History of Agriculture” special award were Jonathon Kirner, Isaac Medina, Adam Willman for “All we ask is Justice: The Cedar County Cow War”.

Runners-up in group website and also winners of “Outstanding Entry Related to Science and Engineering” special award were Molly Major and Erin Woltjer for “Changing the Treatment of Tuberculosis: Revolutionizing Society’s Attitude”

Emily Barske earned the “Sports History Award” for “Title IX: The Revolutionary Law that Changed the Role of the American Girl”.

Students weren’t the only ones receiving honors on Monday. MHS Extended Learning Program teacher Susan Fritzell was also named Iowa’s “National History Day Teacher of the Year”.

Students began work on their projects in September, each focusing on a topic related to the theme “Revolution, Reaction, Reform in History”.  Student did extensive research, visiting Iowa State University’s Special Collections department and the archives at the State Historical Library in Iowa.

Students qualified for the state contest at the regional competition March 28, 2012, at Central College in Pella.