MHS students selected for Drake Honor Band

Front (L to R): Emma Alman, Bb clarinet; Ilene Finn, trumpet. Middle: Eric Weinberg, trumpet; Abigail Snyder, trombone; Hannah Stone, bass clarinet; Drayton Lents, percussion. Back: Ellen Podhajsky, flute; Emma Runquist, flute; Abigail Stone, Bb clarinet; Aaron Schwandt, alto sax; Kyle Bartles, trombone.

Eleven Marshalltown High School musicians were selected for the 2012 Drake Honor Band to be held Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at Drake University in Des Moines.

The students were selected through a nomination process and will rehearse Friday and Saturday before a concert Saturday afternoon. Students were placed according to age and ability, with younger students performing in a concert band and more advanced students taking part in a wind ensemble.