Skip to Content

Five groups advance to State Speech

Five groups from Marshalltown High School are advancing to the State Large Group Speech Contest Feb. 2, 2013, at Cedar Rapids Kennedy High School.

The groups participated in the Iowa High School Speech Association District Large Group Contest Saturday, Jan. 19, at Pella High School, where they earned their bids to the state competition. A total of eight groups from MHS competed at districts in the areas of Readers Theatre, Group Improvisation, Musical Theatre, Ensemble Acting, and Radio News Broadcasting.

The groups advancing to state include: Ensemble Acting Group, “Sorry Dude,” includes Analisa Iole and Emily Murtha; Musical Theatre, “Disney’s Beauty and the Beast,” which features Ilene Finn, Micheala Huey, Abby Snyder, Wynn Tan, Analisa Iole and Emily Murtha; Group Improv with Austin Safely and Olivia Hawkins; Radio News, “KLAF,” with announcers Zakary Herink, Olivia Hawkins, and Chandler Fisher; and Musical Theatre, “Annie,” with Jessica Fisher and Mikela Jones.

One group receiving a Division II rating was The Readers Theatre, “Newcomers’ Class,” with Emily Nordstrom, Hser Paw, Naw Gay, Talia Fosness, Aye Nu Win, Dulce Garcia, Lah Say Wah, Wah K Oo, Alex Herink, Chu Htoo, and Lah Wah Shee. The other groups performing were Emily Nordstrom and Megan Rachuy in the Ensemble Acting event, “Marvin’s Room,” and Improv Group with Ilene Finn, Abby Snyder, and Wynn Tan.

Coaches Craig Luttrell and Julie Bousum, in addition to working with the State-bound groups, will also be finding material for students who plan to participate in District Individual Speech Contest on Feb. 16. Interested MHS students should contact Coach Bousum at the High School.