MHS Band garners 29 Division I ratings at state solo/ensemble contest

Marshalltown High School Band students earned 29 Division I ratings at the Iowa High School Music Association State Solo and Small Ensemble Contest held April 12 at Newton High School.

Marshalltown students performed in front of judges to earn a rating Division I (outstanding), Division II (excellent), Division III (average), Division IV (below average) or Division V (unacceptable). Other schools participating were Indianola, Newton and Ottumwa.

Besides the 29 Division I ratings, MHS also received 6 Division II ratings and one Division III rating.

Earning perfect scores were: Therese Kuhlman, flute; Ellen Podhajsky, flute; Trace Ohrt, snare; Evan Hicks, marimba; and the woodwind quartet of Therese Kuhlman, Ellen Podhajsky, Analisa Iole and Hannah Stone.

Trace Ohrt was selected as the outstanding performer in the Brass and Percussion Center and the Woodwind Quartet was selected as the outstanding performer in the Woodwind Center.

Receiving Division I ratings for solos: Therese Kuhlman, flute; Ellen Podhajsky, flute; Emily Murtha, flute; Therese Kuhlman, alto flute; Analisa Iole, clarinet; Abigail Stone, clarinet; Hannah Stone, clarinet; Emma Alman, clarinet; Marcus Henze, bass clarinet; Lily Larsen, trumpet; Collin Krukow, trombone; Frank Iole, trombone; Brett Wax, tuba; Trace Ohrt, snare; Sam Johnson, marimba; Evan Hicks, marimba; Devin Carlon, marimba; and Andrew Walker, marimba.

Receiving Division I ratings for ensembles: Flute Duet, Flute Quartet, Clarinet Quartet A, Clarinet Quartet B, Woodwind Quartet, Sax Duet A, Sax Duet B, Sax Quintet, Flugelhorn Duet, Brass Quintet A and the Percussion Choir. Participates in the Ensembles include: Therese Kuhlman, Ellen Podhajsky, Emily Murtha, Marcella Savatdy, Analisa Iole, Michaela Huey, Hannah Stone, Abigail Stone, Marcus Henze, Time Potter, Victoria Jones, Abigail Saucedo, Andrew Potter, Nicole Lacina, Niccole Wolken, Severio Mancieri, Sean Finn, Eric Weinberg, Collin Krukow, Abby Snyder, Brett Wax, Trace Ohrt, Sam Johnson, Brenda Livengood, Evan Hicks, Andrew Walker, David Braga and Devin Carlon.

The MHS Band Department will present its Spring Concert on April 27, 2014 at 3pm in the MHS/Community Auditorium. It will feature the MHS Wind Symphony, MHS Symphonic Band and several ensembles and solos. Admission is $5 for adults and $3 for students with Activity Passes honored.