MHS awarded for its violence prevention mentoring program


Representatives from Marshalltown High School’s Mentors in Violence Prevention (MVP) group received an award from Governor Terry Branstad on April 6 in Des Moines. Pictured, from left, are MHS Principal Jacque Wyant, MHS teacher Laurie Rink, Mike McDermott and Meagan Dorsch (from sponsor Verizon), Lieutenant Governor Kim Reynolds, Colin Lura, Chu Htoo, Branstad, Deshonna Garth, Triston Cullor, Bobby Dennis (ACCESS) and Angel Ramirez.

Marshalltown High School was recognized as one of 11 high schools in the state for its implementation of the Mentors in Violence Prevention (MVP) program on April 6.

The program trains students at MHS to serve as mentors for freshmen. It started at MHS this school year and has grown to 64 mentors.

The recognition ceremony was held at the Greater Des Moines Botanical Garden and featured Governor Terry Branstad, Lieutenant Governor Kim Reynolds and Alan Heisterkamp from the University of Northern Iowa Center for Violence Prevention.

MHS students in attendance who are part of MVP included Angel Ramirez, Colin Lura, Chu Htoo, Triston Cullor and Deshonna Garth.

Accompanying the group was MHS Principal Jacque Wyant, teacher Laurie Rink, Bobby Dennis of ACCESS (Assault Care Center Extending Shelter & Support) and Mike Schlesinger of the Times-Republican, who is involved in the Not In Our Town anti-bullying initiative.

Rink said the student mentorship program has really made a difference at MHS.

“They are taking serious that they are having an influence on freshmen,” Rink said.

Prior to the recognition luncheon, the group of students and two MHS staff members made a stop at the State Capitol building to learn about the legislative process and tour the iconic structure.