“Footloose, the Musical” arrives at MHS this weekend


Nick Cooper, center, plays Ren McCormack in the Marshalltown High School fall musical “Footloose, the Musical” at 7 p.m. November 11 and 12 at the MHS/Community Auditorium. Pictured in the second row, from left, are Luke Pedersen, Hannah Shirar, Bell Russell and Hadley Wagner.

Get ready to kick off your Sunday shoes, “Footloose, the Musical” is coming to Marshalltown High School.

Directed by Heather Lee and Amy Ose, the show will be at 7 p.m. both Friday, November 11 and Saturday, November 12 at the MHS/Community Auditorium.

The musical is based on the 1984 hit movie “Footloose.” It centers on the ban of dancing and rock music in the small town of Bomont and the teenage rebellion that followed the ban.

“Rehearsals have been going well and excitement is building among the cast and crew in anticipation of the performances this week,” Lee said. “We hope to take the audience on a fun ride of music, dancing and drama that will elicit a wide range of emotions.”

MHS senior Nick Cooper takes the lead role as Ren McCormack, popularized by actor Kevin Bacon in the movie version.

“It’s going to be a lot of fun,” Cooper said of the musical.

Other main characters include Lucas Thiessen as Rev. Shaw Moore, Eva Hernandez as Vi Moore, Bell Russell as Ariel Moore, Isabella Pedersen as Ethel McCormack, Luke Pedersen as Willard Hewitt, Hannah Shirar as Rusty, Drake Zeuthen as Chuck Cranston, Carissa King as Urleen and Hadley Wagner as Wendy Jo.

Brett Umthun directs the pit orchestra while Trey Quick serves as stage manager.

Admission at the door the night of the show is $5 for adults, $3 for children (kindergarten through eighth grade) with activity tickets honored.

“Footloose, the Musical” Cast
Nick Cooper – Ren McCormack
Isabella Pedersen – Ethel McCormack
Lucas Thiessen – Rev. Shaw Moore
Eva Hernandez – Vi Moore
Bell Russell – Ariel Moore
Olivia Stone – Lulu Warnicker
Eli Thiessen – Wes Warnicker
Angel Ramirez – Coach Roger Dunbar, Jeter, & Chicago Friend 1
Kassie Wilkins – Eleanor Dunbar
Hannah Shirar – Rusty
Carissa King – Urleen
Hadley Wagner – Wendy Jo
Drake Zeuthen – Chuck Cranston
Frank Iole – Travis, Bickle, & Chicago Friend 3
Mackenzie Moyer – A Cop & Adult
Jordan Blue – Betty Blast
Luke Pedersen – Willard Hewitt
Matt Waldon – Principal Harry Clark & Chicago Friend 2
Taylor Naughton – Cowgirl
Angel Ramirez – Cowboy Bob
Jordan Blue & Frank Iole – Cowboy Bob’s Backup Singers

Ensemble Members
Molly Bach, Immaculate Edwin, Nyadoar Gatwech, Amanda Hoffman, Ashley Macbeth, Abby Murty, Reena Pearson

Production Crew
Director – Heather Lee
Vocal Director – Amy Ose
Choreographer – Amanda Loomis
Stage Manager – Trey Quick
Set Design – Heather Lee, Rachael Lee, Mickey McDonald, Alan Paxson
Light Board – Anna Marie Carlson
Sound Board – Madeline Jelken
Auditorium Mgr – Alan Paxson,
Poster/Program/T-Shirt Design – Kyi Tun
Head Makeup – Rachael Lee

Stage/Tech Crew
Brianna Dean, Payton Eigenberger, Nyapukah Gatwech, Liberty Grife, Jocelyn Guzman, Yatnia Hernandez, Eve Nettesheim, Alexis Ortiz, Valerie Ramirez, Jaiman Rivera, Molly Sickles, Sarah Trowbridge, Emily Waldon

Pit Orchestra
Director – Brett Umthun
Annie Grieshop, Amy Ose, Mary Sutton, Skylar Lindeman,
Ben Harris, Victoria Johnson, Quinton Rice, Alex Weidenaar, David Barlow, Josh Arment