Skip to Content

School Board president receives awards from Iowa Association of School Boards


Marshalltown School Board President Bea Niblock, right, received awards from the Iowa Association of School Boards during the recent IASB Convention. Pictured delivering the awards is IASB Board President Amy Jurrens.

Marshalltown Community School District Board of Education President Bea Niblock was recognized with a Basics of Boardsmanship Award and a Better Boardsmanship Award at the recent Iowa Association of School Boards Convention in Des Moines. IASB has developed an awards program to recognize board members who put forth extra time and energy to strengthen their boardsmanship abilities through participation in IASB learning experiences, a desire to take on leadership roles and engagement in service opportunities.

“IASB gives new, and continuing, directors the opportunity to become better prepared and stronger leaders on their boards and across the state in advocating for public school education,” Niblock said. “It has been a pleasure to participate in these learning experiences in an effort to move our schools and district forward.  I am honored by this recognition and hope that other board directors will be able to receive this recognition for the efforts that they are putting forth, as well.”

The Better Boardsmanship Awards program highlights commitment to professional growth. Through this program, individual board members, board teams, and superintendents can receive credits for a wide range of activities including attending IASB learning events in person and through the Digital Campus available on IASB’s website as well as fulfilling leadership services such as sitting on board-appointed committees and advocating at the Iowa legislature for Iowa education.