MHS inducts newest group into National French Honor Society


The pictured Marshalltown High School students were inducted into the National French Honor Society at MHS on March 20. Pictured, front row, from left, Donovan Gavagan, Aye Aye Khaing, Priscila Vergara and Ashly Wiegand. Back row, Abigail Murty, Jace Doran, Carmen Araiza Solorio and Alexander Weidenaar.

Marshalltown High School inducted its newest group of students into the Societe Honoraire de Francais (SHF), a high school National French Honor Society sponsored by the American Association of Teachers of French during a ceremony at MHS on March 20.

SHF recognizes outstanding scholarship in the study of French language and promotes leadership and activities around French language and literature.

This is the second class inducted into the society from MHS, after the charter members were inducted this past fall. A grade point average of 3.5 or higher in French and a 2.7 GPA or higher in all other coursework is required for membership.  Charter members as well as MHS French instructor Naomi Musal and Associate Principal Deb Holsapple assisted with the event.

MHS students inducted into the society at the event included: Carmen Araiza Solorio, Donovan Gavagan, Jace Doran, Aye Aye Khaing, Priscila Vergara, Abigail Murty, Ashly Wiegand and Alexander Weidenaar.

Students René Hernandez Andrade, Daniela Lagunas, Liz Vargas Perez, Louis Ramirez, Melissa Hernandez, and Jose Palmerin Andrade were not in attendance, but will receive their membership at a later point.