Students, staff recognized by Belin-Blank Center at University of Iowa


These Extended Learning Program students and staff from Marshalltown were among those honored at the Belin-Blank Center Recognition Ceremony at the University of Iowa on September 30. Pictured, from left, are MHS students Lilly Duff and Alivia Eaton, Lenihan teacher Vanessa Engel, Miller Middle School student Adrian Juarez, Lenihan student Izaiah Correa, elementary teacher Deb Christenson and Lenihan student Ella Spitzli. Several other Marshalltown students and one staff member were honored but not in attendance.

Several Marshalltown Schools staff and students were honored at the Belin-Blank Recognition Ceremony on September 30 at the University of Iowa.

Three Marshalltown Extended Learning Program teachers were recognized including Deb Christenson from Fisher, Franklin and Rogers elementary schools, Vanessa Engel from Lenihan Intermediate School and Ann Jackson from Miller Middle School. These staff were nominated by Marshalltown students who were asked to identify a teacher who has made a significant impact on their lives.

Marshalltown students recognized included Adrian Juarez of Miller Middle School and Lenihan students Izaiah Correa, Ella Spitzli and Isaac Benscoter. These students were awarded for their performance in the I-Excel test (above level test) last spring while at Lenihan.

Several MHS freshmen were recognized for their participation in the Blank Summer Institute for Arts and Sciences including Lilly Duff, Alivia Eaton, Jacob Swartz, Marcus Barker, Erin Stanley, Zoe Johnson and Jesse DeMeyer.