Marshalltown students qualify for state Lego League


Pictured is the Miller Middle School team which qualified for the state Lego League contest at the FIRST Lego League regional contest held at Marshalltown High School on November 11. Pictured from left, are  Elazia Davison, Ellie Seberger, Yessenia Alvarez Zamora, Roan Jelken, Braden Stewart, Jay Helton,  Katelyn Schwartz and Coach Ann Jackson.

Two Lego League teams made up of students from Marshalltown Schools have qualified for the state tournament after performing at the regional competition on November 11 at Marshalltown High School.

Miller team state bound
The Miller Middle School Lego League team, Team VRoom, earned an award for robot design and was also named as the tournament’s Iowa Global Innovation Candidate for their project on the “VRoom Experience,” which maximizes virtual reality technologies to alleviate boredom and increase sensory stimulation for long-duration space travelers.  The team now will go on to compete to be Iowa’s Global Innovation Champion at the State Lego League tournament on January 19 at Iowa State University.

Lenihan students advance
The Wizard Engineers earned first place in the robot challenges to become eligible for the state competition. The team is made up of Lenihan Intermediate School fifth grade students.
The team project (innovative solution) was about growing food in space. The team developed “plant pillows” and “zoom gel” for astronauts to grow fresh food in while on the International Space Station.  The team also used a hydroponics garden to grow wheat grass, which then was included in a “Space Shake” recipe.

MHS robotics served as hosts
The MHS robotics team worked hard to host this event (setting up the competition venue, timing, announcing, etc.) as this was a community outreach project for the team.


This team of Lenihan Intermediate School fifth grade students qualified for state Lego League. Pictured is front row, from left, Emerson Eastman, Leah Kurian, Anessa Morrison and Sam Hatcher. Second row, Porter Niedermann, Harper Wilson, Millie Heitmann, Lucas Hagen, Max Reed and Josian Kurian. Back row are coaches Kate Niedermann, Matt Morrison, Reji Kurian and Laura Fricke.