Skip to Content

MHS qualifies 19 students for state individual speech contest

The Marshalltown High School speech team competed in the Iowa High School Speech Association Southeast District Individual Speech Contest on February 23 in Grinnell. MHS had 19 students earn a Division I rating for 21 entries, which qualified them for the state contest to be held at North Scott High School on March 9.

“This is the largest group we’ve ever taken to districts and I’m so proud of all of our Bobcat speech participants,” said MHS speech coach Jocelyn Frohwein.

Students earning Division I ratings and qualifying for state from MHS included:
Fynn Piepenschneider (2 events), Ashlyn Ruiz (2 events), Phoebe Osgood, Alejandra Morales Fernandez, Jesse DeMeyer, Mackenzie Moyer, Hay Oo, Emily Miller, Stella Roseburrough Borras, Matthew Waldon, Dylan Jacobsen, Hay Htu, Ana Nolasco, Rojin Kahraman, Yatnia Hernandez, Carissa King, Nasteho Mohammed, Reena Pearson and Anan Shen

Students earning Division II ratings from MHS included:
Phoebe Osgood, Andrew Corral, Emily Miller, Makhiley Rosalez, Jesse DeMeyer, Ana Kuznia, Esperanza Reyes, Ana Nolasco, Sammuel Wilder, Leo Lopez-Cabrera, Alejandra Morales Fernandez, Trinity Snow Snyder, Freddie Ross III, Martha Diaz and Rojin Kahraman.