Retirees honored for their dedication in their careers


Miller Middle School special education teacher Anita Ringgenberg, left, honors retiring Miller special education teacher Linda Russell during the MEA/MCSD retirement tea held on May 15.

Nearly 250 years of combined service to the district was recognized during the Marshalltown Education Association/Marshalltown Schools annual retirement tea held on May 15 at Dejardin Hall on the Marshalltown Community College campus. Many of the school employees set to retire in just a few weeks were in attendance.

“The impact they’ve had on generations of students cannot be truly measured,” said School Board Member Sean Heitmann.

MEA Scholarships


The MEA Scholarship recipients were Trenten Finders (left), who plans to attend Marshalltown Community College and Juliana Arifi (right), who plans to attend Grand View University.

Friend of Education Award


Franklin teacher Angie Pietig, right, presents volunteer Shirley Mann with the Friend of Education award.

The Friend of Education Award was presented to Shirley Mann, a retired teacher who volunteers in third grade at Franklin Elementary School.

“I cannot think of a more deserving individual for this award,” said Franklin teacher Angie Pietig.


Below are more photos of retirees who were honored at the event:


Sue Cahill, left, honors retiring Woodbury Elementary School 3rd grade teacher Rita Byers.



Hoglan Elementary School Principal Amy Williams, left, talks with retiring Hoglan 2nd grade teacher Deb Friday.


Rogers Elementary School teacher Chris Melde, right, honors retiring Franklin/Rogers music teacher Jolene Kubli.


MHS nurse Stacy Tool-Crawford, left, honors retiring Woodbury Elementary School nurse Elly Mack.

Other retirees not in attendance included Rollie Ackerman, Mike Eggleston, Darlene Gilliland, Jeff Hoogensen, Mike Loupee, Leah Mattox, Elda Reyes and Maralyn Schulze. Piano music was presented prior to the start of the event by Miller 8th grader Hannah Seltman.