School Board members’ service celebrated for School Board Recognition month

May is School Board Recognition Month, sponsored by the Iowa Association of School Boards to celebrate the contributions of board members to Iowa public education. This year’s theme is “School Boards: Leading Through Uncharted Waters.”

The Marshalltown Community School District is celebrating the work of our incredible school board, each member of which has maintained their commitment to students, schools, and our community while facing challenges and making decisions they never could have anticipated when they were elected.

The Marshalltown School Board is charged with charting the course for our school district. They oversee the budget, develop policies, set the atmosphere for the District, and make decisions that impact the entire community.

The board members’ hard work in service to the District was highlighted at the Monday, May 3 regular board meeting. We thank all seven board members – Board President Bea Niblock, Vice President Sean Heitmann, Mike Miller, Karina Hernandez, Sara Faltys, Jan McGinnis, and Niko Aguirre – for their ongoing leadership and commitment to the success of Marshalltown Schools!