Second group of 2021 Bobcat graduates celebrated

Joselin Garcia Avalos, right, was one of 14 students celebrated at the second 2021 MHS Commencement Ceremony this week. Also pictured is MHS Principal Jacque Wyant, left.

An additional group of 2021 Bobcat graduates was celebrated Thursday evening, each making that much-anticipated walk to receive their high school diploma amid the cheers of family, friends, and school staff.

The graduates joined their peers who were recognized at the MHS Commencement Ceremony in May. Through hard work, perseverance, and guidance from Marshalltown High School staff, Thursday’s graduates walked into life’s next steps with confidence.

“We have some wonderful students who persevered through whatever challenges life brought to them … they did not give up and saw it all the way through,” said MHS Principal Jacque Wyant in her commencement address. “Some of you have gained skills training along the way, whether it’s been in construction, or culinary arts, or any MCC class you have taken.”

She said the coronavirus pandemic and resulting changes at school had a big impact on many students. Graduate Isaac Lopez echoed Wyant’s message as he spoke before receiving his diploma Thursday.

Isaac Lopez thanks the family members and school staff who supported graduates’ efforts to complete their coursework ahead of graduation.

“I would like to thank everybody who came out to support us, not only here but at home, through the struggles,” Lopez said. “COVID really changed the dynamic of school and really affected basically everything.”

He gave special thanks to the family members and school staff who helped push the graduates as they completed their high school coursework.

Congratulations to this most recent group of Class of 2021 Bobcat graduates! See a list of the graduates celebrated this week below:

  • Jatnael Alvizo
  • Joselin Garcia Avalos
  • Roman Gonzalez Andrade
  • Katie Harris Rodriguez
  • Isaac Lopez
  • Ashtin Menter
  • Jennifer Moreno Gutierrez
  • Jessica Pantoja Rangel
  • Jesse Parra
  • Alonso Reyes
  • Michael Ridout
  • Carlos Rivas Vargas
  • Brian Sanchez
  • Charlie Scott