STEP announces $5,000 in grants available to Marshall County non-profits

First row (standing L to R): Kelly Vopava, Elizabeth Anderson, Emily Barske, Brooklyn Contreras, Rachel Faircloth, Lainey Crawford, Vanessa Jorgensen. Second Row: Lauren Grabau, T.J. Miller, Daniel Talbert, Elizabeth Barske, Kate Penttila, Connor Ruddick, Brennan Goodman. Third Row: Emma Runquist, Nathan Davis, Kody Zuercher, Dan Martin. Not pictured: Diana Yepez, Riley Willman and Brittanie McGrane

The S.T.E.P. program (Students Teaching and Empowering Philanthropy) is excited to announce a $5,000 funding opportunity for nonprofits in the Marshall County area.

Now in its second year, S.T.E.P. is a philanthropic program open to sophomores, juniors and seniors and is sponsored by the Martha-Ellen Tye Foundation and the Community Foundation of Marshall County, an affiliate of the Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa, in cooperation with Marshalltown High School. This program allows high school age students in Marshalltown to learn about local non-profit organizations and practice philanthropy. For the 2011-2012 school year, 21 students are participating in S.T.E.P. This type of program, which has been successfully implemented throughout the United States over the past twenty-five years, has proven that students involved in philanthropy at an early age are more likely to become volunteers and donors throughout their adult life.

The S.T.E.P. grant application form for 2012 is now available. The postmark deadline is February 15, 2012.  Non-profit organizations and projects located in Marshall County, Iowa may apply for funding from the S.T.E.P. Committee, which is responsible for allocating $5,000 this year to support projects addressing community issues. Organizations interested in receiving an application may send an e-mail request to or access the application online at on the Grantmaking page.

For more information contact Program Manager & S.T.E.P. Coordinator Heidi Pierson at the Martha-Ellen Tye Foundation, (641) 752-8340.