Marshalltown students earn honors at Central Iowa Student Technology Fair


Students from Marshalltown’s Extended Learning Program presented at the Central Iowa Student Technology Fair at Iowa State University Tuesday, April 10, bringing home numerous honors and awards.

At Miller Middle School eight grade student Andrea Lothe won a purple ribbon for her original musical composition, “Waves of Song”. Also receiving a purple ribbon was fourth grader Sean Nyuon from Rogers Elementary. Sean created a video/linear presentation called “Sudan: Land of the Blacks”.

A purple ribbon is a Judges’ Choice award and is the highest honor awarded to Tech Fair Participants. As purple ribbon recipients, Andrea and Sean are invited to present their projects at the annual Iowa Technology Education Connection (ITEC) conference in Coralville in October.

Six Miller students received blue ribbons for technical merit for their projects: Tim Potter and James Drummer – Video Presentation: “NXT Programming: The Basics”; Jacob Ramsey Smith – Non-Linear Animation: “Sphere Rolling Down Hill”; Mitch Eberle – Non-Linear Animation: “The Journey”; Kobe Sandoval and Josephine Coury Castellanos – Graphic Design: “MCSD Orchestra Program”.

Lenihan Intermediate students Joshua Arment, Lucas Duff and Martin Runquist received a blue ribbon for their project: “Evaluation and Modification of NXT Design and Programming for Food Factor Challenge”.

Franklin Elementary fourth grader Wyatt DeMeyer received a blue ribbon for his video/linear presentation: “The Civil War Timeline”. Rogers Elementary fourth grader Alonzo Ceren received a blue ribbon for his video/linear presentation: “Geological History of Iowa”.

Red ribbon recipients at Miller were: Jack Kester, Collin Krukow, and Nick Lanes – Web Presence: “How to Make a Site”; Frank Iole – Non-Linear Animation: “The Plant and Its Functions”; Mary Drummer and Kyra Buckley – Video Presentation: “DNA”.

The Student Technology Fair is sponsored each year by the Iowa Technology Education Connection.  Students may enter a project in one of nine categories: 3-D Rendering/Non-linear Animation, Graphics/Publishing, Web Presence, Video/Linear Presentation, Music/ Sound Design, Programming, Multimedia, Mobile Apps, and Innovative Technology Use.

Over 320 students participated in this year’s event.