Phomvisay wins ISU educational administration award



Marshalltown High School Principal Aiddy Phomvisay is one of four winners of the Richard P. Manatt Fellowship in educational administration, issued by the School of Education at Iowa State University.

Phomvisay will receive the $2,000 award at a College of Human Sciences scholarship recognition event, 3 p.m. Friday in the first-floor lobby of the Scheman Building.

The fellowship provides partial funding to support and develop the nation’s best educational administration scholars as they pursue the Iowa State University doctoral program in educational administration.

Phomvisay is in his third year as the principal at Marshalltown High School.  He previously worked as an associate principal at Valley High School in West Des Moines, taught ninth grade world studies and 10th grade U.S. history at Ames High School, and taught in an English Language Learner sheltered classroom.

He is a National Board Certified Teacher in social studies and history, and has taught classes at Drake University and Iowa State University.

In Ames and West Des Moines, Phomvisay held many leadership roles in various training and curriculum writing teams. He serves on the Iowa Department of Education English Language Learner Task Force and the external advisory committee for Iowa State’s Educator Preparation Coordinating Council. He has been a keynote speaker at the Iowa Culture and Language Conference, Our Kids Conference and Iowa Project Lead the Way Teacher Conference.

Prior to seeking his doctorate, Phomvisay received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Iowa State University, as well as a certificate of advanced studies (superintendent license). He also attended the James Madison Senior Fellowship Constitution Institute at Georgetown University.

He lives in Marshalltown with his family. His wife Mindy is an elementary music teacher and the director of music ministry at First Baptist Church in Ames. Their children Elijah, 11, and Emma, 9, are active in orchestra, band, dance, and school activities.

Other winners of the award include Mark Ernst of Ankeny, director of curriculum for Clear Creek Amana Community Schools; David Ford, district at-risk coordinator in the Southeast Polk Community School District; and Jesse Ulrich, superintendent of the A-H-S-T Community School District in Avoca and Walnut Community School District.

The Richard P. Manatt Fellowship was created in honor of Dick Manatt, professor of educational administration at Iowa State University, who served as a teacher, counselor, school administrator, and professor during a distinguished career that spanned nearly 50 years.

As a university professor and director of the School Improvement Model (SIM), Manatt supervised research projects totaling more than $5 million and authored five books and more than 100 articles. He is perhaps best known by his students for his exceptional commitment to their personal and professional development.

During Manatt’s nearly 40 years at Iowa State University, he served as major professor for 175 Ph.D. students in educational administration. His dedication to mentoring graduates of the program and supporting their work continued long after they received their degrees. Upon Manatt’s retirement in May 2002, his students and friends established the Richard P. Manatt Fellowship.