MHS band performs at IHSMA State Solo and Small Ensemble Festival

The Marshalltown High School band earned 22 Division I ratings, 11 Division II ratings and two Division III ratings during the Iowa High School Music Association State Solo and Small Ensemble Festival on April 18 at Newton High School.

Receiving solo Division I ratings from MHS were Ellen Podhajsky (flute, alto flute and piccolo), Mary Sutton (flute), Hannah Stone (Bb clarinet) Lucas Duff (bassoon), Ben Harris (alto sax), Mikayla Wymore (trumpet), Collin Krukow (trombone) and Sam Johnson (marimba). MHS also had several groups of students receive Division I ratings in duets, trios, quartets and ensembles.

Sam Johnson earned a perfect score for his marimba solo. Collin Krukow earned an outstanding performer award for his trombone solo. Ellen Podhajsky earned perfect scores for her flute solo, alto flute solo, and piccolo solo as well as an outstanding performer award.

Individual Division II ratings from MHS went to: Skylar Lindeman (clarinet), Jacqueline Wahl (oboe), Jordan Smiley (trumpet), Frank Iole (trombone), Sam Johnson (snare), Dylan Roseburrough (snare) and Josh Arment (timpani).