Skip to Content

Teacher librarians receive statewide awards


Teacher librarians Sue Cahill, left, of Woodbury Elementary School and Jeni Sloan of Hoglan Elementary School received Outstanding School Library awards from the Iowa Association of School Librarians on April 4.

Sue Cahill and Jeni Sloan, teacher librarians from the Marshalltown Community School District, have been recognized by the Iowa Association of School Librarians and received the Outstanding School Library Award at the IASL Conference in Des Moines on April 4, 2016.

Cahill is a teacher librarian at Woodbury Elementary School and Sloan is a teacher librarian at Hoglan Elementary School.

The Outstanding School Library Award recognizes school libraries from across the state of Iowa. Applicants must complete a checklist that demonstrates competence in four areas. These areas include: qualifications of staff, teaching and learning, library management and administrative support. An essay including the library mission, four exemplary moments from the library, and an explanation of how their school library has had a positive impact on student learning is also part of the application process.

“It is exciting to have teacher librarians from Marshalltown apply for and receive this award for the second year in a row,” said Alicia Patten, Fisher Elementary teacher librarian and IASL Awards Chair. “Both Sue and Jeni are advocates for school libraries and education. We are grateful for their dedication to students and libraries.”

MCSD teacher librarians Sue Inhelder, Erin Faas and Beth Steffa were recognized with the award last year.