Four MCSD staff members receive Employee of the Quarter awards


Four Marshalltown Schools staff members have received Employee of the Quarter awards. Pictured from left, are Jaime Davis, Renae DeVenney, Sally Jensen and Jocelyn Frohwein. 

Four Marshalltown Community School District staff members are the recipients of Employee of the Quarter awards for the second quarter of the 2016-17 school year. Below are the honorees who were presented awards on February 2 and 3 by Superintendent Dr. Theron Schutte, Director of Human Resources Anthony Spurgetis and staff who nominated the award winners. A total of 35 employees were nominated by their peers for the award.


Jaime Davis

Jaime Davis is custodian at Fisher Elementary School. She was nominated for the award by Fisher paraeducator Mary Burns. Davis has served as a custodian in the district since 2005, starting at as a night custodian at Anson and Fisher then moving to daytime custodian at Fisher the last four years.

“I am very impressed with her ability to learn the names of both the children and staff who benefit from her service,” Burns wrote in her nomination. “She seems to know which children need that extra gentle touch and friendly smile.”


Renae DeVenney.jpg

Renae DeVenney

Renae DeVenney is secretary at Lenihan Intermediate School. She was nominated by Lenihan teacher Leah Mattox. DeVenney has been a secretary in the district since 2000, starting at the former Anson Middle School before moving to Lenihan.

Mattox wrote in her nomination about how welcoming DeVenney is to visitors at Lenihan.

“The first person they meet is a professional, caring individual who can answer all the questions thrown at her,” Mattox wrote. “She is the heartbeat of our building coordinating all aspects so that Lenihan runs smoothly. You know when someone is everyone’s ‘go to person’ that they are special.”

Frohwein, Jocelyn copy.jpg

Jocelyn Frohwein

Jocelyn Frohwein is an English teacher at Marshalltown High School. She was nominated for the award by fellow MHS teacher Naomi Musal. Frohwein has been at MHS since 2014.

“She is a student advocate who gives of her time and talents to support and help students no matter what,” Musal wrote in her nomination about Frohwein. “She is here early, stays late, goes to student events, and will listen to any student who needs a sympathetic ear.”



Sally Jensen.jpg

Sally Jensen

Sally Jensen is a special education paraeducator at Anson Elementary School. She was nominated for the award by Anson teachers Rachel Olson and Melissa Ulch. Sally was first hired as a substitute paraeducator in 2012 and later worked food service at Franklin Elementary before starting as an Anson paraeducator in 2014.

“Simply put, Sally is incredible,” Olson wrote in her nomination. “She is always ready and willing to help when things arise throughout the school day. Sally has incredible work ethic and always puts the needs of our students over her own needs. She is one of the friendliest people I’ve ever met.”