Skip to Content

Tea event recognizes retiring staff


Retiring Franklin Elementary School teacher Kathy Ferguson, left, is pictured with Paula Johnson of Miller Middle School at the retirement tea on May 17.

Retirement is nearing for several Marshalltown Community School District employees. On May 17, they were honored during the Marshalltown Education Association/MCSD retirement tea. Several of this year’s retirees were in attendance and spoke at the event, or had friends give them a farewell.

“For your devotion, dedication, and hard work you deserve the best retirement ever,” School Board President Bea Niblock told the retirees.

Those honored at the event included:


Grant Brintnall

Grant Brintnall
Grant is retiring after working with the district since 1984.  Fellow Miller teacher Chad Spear talked about times spent at Miller and read comments about Grant from former Miller Principal Brad Clement.


Kathy Ferguson
The Franklin teacher is retiring after working 34 years in the district. Her fellow teachers at Franklin, Angie Pietig, Leiah Craun and Mallori Ghent provided Kathy with a top 10 list of things to look forward to in retirement.


Cindy Seberger

Cindy Seberger
The Miller Middle School kitchen manager retired after serving in that role since 2002.


Vicki Vopava

Vicki Vopava
The Fisher Elementary Principal retires after working for the district since 1992. Vicki especially thanked her fellow elementary principals for helping her through the years.


Don Wiser

Don Wiser
The retiring physical education teacher and coach was honored by his former principal at Anson Elementary, Bea Niblock, and others he has worked with. Don taught for Marshalltown Schools for 39 years.

Other retirees not in attendance but recognized at the event included: Kay Burr (substitute caller), Barb Gummert (Franklin paraeducator), Deb Johnson (Miller teacher),  Bret Lee (MHS instrumental music), Melissa Keeler (Franklin secretary), Ann Noe (Woodbury custodian) Mary Oetker (Fisher teacher), and Marilyn Rhodes (executive assistant to the superintendent).


MEA Scholarship recipients Leah Edel and Austin Tullis

Scholarship recipients
MHS seniors Leah Edel and Austin Tullis received $250 MEA Scholarships at the event. Edel plans to attend Simpson College and major in elementary education while Tullis plans to attend the University of Iowa on a pre-medicine track.


Friend of Education Award winner Lynn Jensen, left, of Emerson, and Paula Johnson.

Friend of Education Award
Lynn Jensen of Emerson received the Friend of Education award, which was presented by a group of Lenihan Intermediate School staff members. Jensen started a tutoring program last school year which has brought Emerson staff to Lenihan to tutor. A total of 36 Emerson staff volunteered as tutors this school year. Jensen has also volunteered at several Lenihan events.

Orchestra students from Marshalltown High School entertained the guests prior to the event.