Students participate in Lego League regional at MCC


The Miller Middle School 8th grade team won the champions award at the Lego League Regional at Marshalltown Community College on December 2. Pictured, from left, are Jacob Swartz, Alivia Eaton, Lilly Duff, Derek Peng and Marcus Barker. Back row, is Miller Extended Learning Program teacher and team coach Ann Jackson.

Several Marshalltown Community School District students participated in the FIRST Lego League Competition Regional Qualifying Competition at  Marshalltown Community College on December 2.  Many local teams competed, shared their projects and shared their new learning about hydrodynamics. There is also a robot competition, where a robot is programmed to do tasks.

The Miller Middle School eighth grade team, the Robocats, won the champion award, topping the field and qualifying for the state competition at Iowa State University. The Robocats are coached by Miller Extended Learning Program Teacher Ann Jackson.

Also qualifying for state was a parent-led team coached by Amanda and Travis Bloomquist, named the Gentlemanly Gamer Puppies.


The state-qualifying Gentlemanly Gamer Puppies include, from left, Quinton Lacey, Kaiden McWilliams, Amanda and Travis Bloomquist (coaches), Locke Bloomquist and Taylor Vaughn.

Other MCSD students competing included:

The Hydrobots featuring Miller 7th graders.


The Hydrobots team, from left,Derek Ketcham, Josh Reynolds, Kaden Ricken, Gavin Jablonski and Nile Christensen.

The Tiny Turbo Turbines is a team of Lenihan Intermediate School students and won first place for the project about installing tiny turbines into the Marshalltown Water Works.


The Tiny Turbo Turbines from Lenihan Intermediate School include, front row, from left, Zander Pennington Farmer, Roan Jelken, Jay Helton, Katelyn Schwartz and Isaac Benscoter. Back row, Coach Aaron Dickey, Alexa Oliveros, Coach Vanessa Engel, Victoria Corona, and Eduardo Yanez. 

The Wizard Engineers are a group of fourth Grade students from Fisher Elementary School participating as outside enrichment.  


This fourth grade team from Fisher Elementary School participated including, front row, Leah Kurian. Second row,  Porter Niedermann, Emerson Eastman, Max Reed, Anessa Morrison, Harper Wilson, Josiah Kurian, Lucas Hagen and Sam Hatcher. Back row, coaches  Kate Niedermann, Matt Morrison, Reji Kurian and Laura Fricke.