MHS to present spring play April 6 & 7


Pictured are three student actors from the upcoming MHS spring play “The Brothers Grimm Spectaculathon,” which is April 6 and 7. Pictured from left are Olivia Adams-Zmolek, Amanda Hoffman and Sammuel Wilder.

The Marshalltown High School drama department will present the spring play “The Brothers Grimm Spectaculathon” at 7 p.m. both Friday, April 6 and Saturday April 7 at the MHS/Community Auditorium.

The fairy tales of the Brothers Grimm are turned on their heads in this fast-paced, rollicking ride as two narrators and several actors attempt to combine all 209 stories ranging from classics like Snow White, Cinderella, and Hansel and Gretel to more bizarre, obscure stories like The Devil’s Grandmother and The Girl Without Hands. It’s a wild, free-form comedy with audience participation and madcap fun.

Directed by Grant Gale, the production features 16 actors taking on a variety of roles.

Admission at the door is $5 for adults and high school students, $3 for students (8th and below) and activity tickets honored.

Cast List

Name Roles
Ashlyn Ruiz Narrator 1
Phoebe Osgood Narrator 2
Reena Pearson Actor 1 Host 1 Wicked Stepmother
Ana Nolasco Girl Witch 2 Wicked Stepsister 2
Abby Murty Dirt Merchant Talking fish Devil’s G-ma
Olivia Adams-Zmolek Enchantress King Little Red
Sammuel Wilder Devil 1 Hansel Dwarf 2 The Wolf
Matthew Waldon Rumpelstiltskin Father Giant Dwarf 1
Lucas Scott Thiessen Prince 1 Frog Prince Walt Voice of God
Amanda Hoffman Rapunzel Crab Person 2 Woodcutter
Alex Stansberry Prince 2 Mother Prince 3
Emily Waldon another actor Crab Person 1 Plant Grandma
Amber Lawthers Girl w/out Hands Fishergirl Cinderella
Erin Duffy Gretel Elf Cobbler Snow White
Mackenzie Peter Witch 1 Host 3 Devil 2
Aliifah Bianca Nuradrina Host 2 Princess Doctor Wicked Stepsister 1
Name Crew
Zyrus Whitehead Light Designer
Calvin Morrison Light Board Op
Nathan Thill Sound Board Op
Rylena Hornberg Stage Crew
Nyapukah Gatwech Stage Crew

Amber Lawthers tries to club a shark.


Narrators Ashlyn Ruiz and Phoebe Osgood


Ana Nolasco and Lucas Thiessen