Four seats on the ballot for the school board election on November 5

The Marshalltown Community School District will have four school board seats up for election during the November 5, 2019 election.

The four at-large seats are currently held by board members Nicolas Aguirre, Janelle Carter, Ben Fletcher and Sean Heitmann. These seats are all for four-year terms.

The first day to file nomination papers with MCSD Board Secretary Paulette Newbold will be Monday, August 26, 2019. The deadline to file completed forms as a candidate is Thursday, September 19, 2019.

To become a candidate

Those looking to be on the ballot for the November 5 election are required to complete an affidavit of candidacy and acquire 50 signatures from eligible voters in the school district.

The forms can be picked up currently from Paulette Newbold at the school district offices at 1002. S. 3rd. Ave., the county auditor’s office at Great Western Bank (11 N. 1st. Ave) or via the Iowa Secretary of State’s website.

An affidavit of candidacy can be located at and a nomination petition can be located at

These completed forms would need to be returned to Paulette Newbold, MCSD Board Secretary, 1002 S. 3rd. Ave., Marshalltown, Iowa, 50158 by 5 p.m. on September 19, 2019.

For more information, call the school district offices at 641-754-1000, email or access the candidate guide at

See a video below on how to become a candidate.