Six MHS students earn All-State Music Honors

Six Marshalltown High School music students have attained the highest individual honor available to Iowa high school musicians – each has been selected as a member of one of the 2020 All-State Music Ensembles. Congratulations to the following students:

  • All-State Band: Rebekah Stone, bass clarinet (second year)
  • All-State Chorus: Olivia Adams-Zmolek (second year), Taylor Hoffman, Aaron Seberger, and Elijah Thiessen (fourth year)
  • All-State Orchestra: Veronica Herrera, violin

The 2020 All-State Music Festival concert would have celebrated the 74th anniversary of this prestigious event. District auditions for each ensemble were held virtually last month in Le Mars, Hampton, Independence, Atlantic, Indianola, and Washington. 

In total, 3,483 students representing 263 high schools auditioned virtually. The students selected to an All-State ensemble represent the top 1.7% of all Iowa high school musicians.

While we are saddened that the 2020 All-State Music Festival Concert itself has been cancelled due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, that in no way diminishes the accomplishment of the young musicians designated as members of the 2020 All-State Band, Choir, or Orchestra. They are in every way All-State Musicians and we commend them for earning this honor! 

PHOTOS: Three Bobcat All-Staters show their instruments and medals. From left: Taylor Hoffman, Veronica Herrera, and Rebekah Stone.