Skip to Content

Retirees celebrated at 2022 MCSD/MEA Retirement Tea

Retiring Title I teacher Rosa Nevarez, left, receives kind words from her peers Leti Yzquierdo, center, and Maricruz Estrada, right, at Thursday’s Retirement Tea.

Two dozen longtime school staff members are looking forward to life’s next chapters as they get ready for retirement at the end of the 2021-22 school year.

This year’s retirees were honored and celebrated for the time, effort, and incredible service they’ve given for Bobcat students at the annual MCSD/MEA Retirement Tea on Thursday. This year’s Tea returned to Iowa Valley Continuing Education’s DeJardin Hall, where retirees and their peers spoke fondly of their years working together in the schools. Those honored included:

  • Melody Bennett
  • Mary Borton
  • David Bowles
  • Jacqueline Bryant
  • Sue Cahill
  • Deb Christenson
  • Mark Church
  • Sue Cleveringa
  • Debbie Corrick
  • Leiah Craun
  • Susan Eggleston
  • Ann Frost
  • Glenda Hughes
  • Michele Irwin
  • Dr. Mick Jurgensen
  • Iris Langland
  • Nancy Mayer
  • Vincent Milot
  • Rosa Nevarez
  • Judith Nieman
  • Elizabeth Overstake
  • Becky Peterson
  • Val Varnum Hunt
  • Karen Weaver
MHS students Jolcey Santana, at top, and Kyah Siegert, at bottom, were each awarded a $500 MEA Scholarship.

Superintendent Dr. Theron Schutte and Marshalltown School Board President Sean Heitmann shared their deep appreciation for the retirees’ work, and emphasized the crucial role each played in the lives of countless students.

Additionally, two soon-to-be Bobcat graduates were honored at Thursday’s Tea. Jolcey Santana and Kyah Siegert were selected as this year’s MEA Scholarship recipients, each receiving $500. Both students congratulated this year’s retirees as they accepted the scholarships.

Also celebrated was La Carreta Mexican Grill owner and MHS alum Alfonso Medina, Jr., who was named the 2022 MEA Friend of Education Award recipient. Medina has been a strong supporter of MCSD and the school staff who work with students each day.

Most recently, Medina and his wife, Vanessa Perez, donated $5,000 through their business and  No Love No Tacos non-profit organization to cover ndegative student lunch account balances, in partnership with A&A Concrete and Arturo Mujica.

Congratulations to all of this year’s retirees (listed below), as well as MEA Friend of Education Award recipient Alfonso Medina, Jr. and MEA Scholarship recipients Jolcey Santana and Kyah Siegert! Check out more photos from Thursday’s Retirement Tea below.