Skip to main content
Main Content


Dr. Theron J. Schutte, Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Theron Schutte began his duties as superintendent of the Marshalltown Community School District on July 1, 2016. Dr. Schutte is a PROUD 1981 Marshalltown High School graduate.

Dr. Schutte served as superintendent of the Bettendorf Community School District from 2009-2016 and also has previous superintendent experience in the Boone Community School District. He began his career as a teacher, coach, assistant principal and principal in Clinton, Iowa and Boone, Iowa.

He holds a bachelor’s degree in secondary education (history) from Central College in Pella, a master’s and education specialist degree in educational administration from Western Illinois University and a Ph.D. in educational leadership and policy studies from Iowa State University.

Dr. Schutte currently serves on the Executive Board of the American Association of School Administrators (AASA) and is past president of School Administrators of Iowa (SAI). He was a recent recipient of a LELA Fellowship on personalized learning and has previously served on the Iowa Girls’ Athletic Union Executive Board and the Iowa Boys’ High School Athletic Association Representative Council. He is a former Iowa Middle Level Educator of the Year. Dr. Schutte and his wife Conny have two grown daughters and three grandchildren. 

Shauna Smith, Director of Instruction

Shauna Smith joined the Marshalltown CSD administration team in July of 2021. Mrs. Smith has leadership and teaching experience at Marshalltown Schools; additionally, she has served as a dean of students/assistant principal and Director of Curriculum & Student Services at South Tama CSD prior to her return to MCSD. 




Dr. Nora Ryan, Director of Human Resources 

Dr. Nora Ryan is the Director of Human Resources for the Marshalltown Community School District. She is originally from Story City and has several immediate and extended family members who work in education.

Dr. Ryan received both her Bachelor of Arts degree in Spanish (with an Iowa State teaching licensure) and her Master’s in Public Administration from Iowa State University. She received her doctorate in Public Administration and Public Policy from George Washington University in Washington, D.C. in 2017.

Dr. Ryan has previous in teaching and in human resources, and she has spent one year as a Statistician Fellow working in the Executive Office of the President of the United States from May 2015-16. 


Matt Cretsinger, Director of Special Services

Matt Cretsinger has been the Director of Special Services for the Marshalltown Community School District since July 1, 2012. He responsible for overseeing many programs and services, including special education, 504 services, Social-Emotional Learning, school counseling, school resource specialists, Health Services Department, Pre-K programming for children with disabilities, and Medicaid services. He also serves as the Foster Care Coordinator for the District.   

Mr. Cretsinger has been an educator since 2004 and has been serving in leadership positions since 2008. He has previous experience serving students and families in a variety of other roles, including team leader of behavioral supports, program assistant for special education, professional learning and leadership consultant, and school psychologist. Mr. Cretsinger also has experience as an adjunct college instructor, a clinician for a mental health center, program director for a psychiatric medical institute for children (PMIC), and a mental health counselor for a residential treatment setting. 

Mr. Cretsinger has a master’s degree and a specialist degree in Educational Psychology from the University of Wisconsin-Stout. Mr. Cretsinger also holds a master’s degree and specialist degree in Educational Leadership from Drake University and holds a bachelor's degree in Psychology from Simpson College. He also is an inaugural graduate of the Collaborative for Academic & Social Emotional Learning (CASEL) Fellowship and holds certification in the Collaborative Problem Solving approach.  Mr. Cretsinger participates in several professional organizations, including; the Council for Exceptional Children, School Administrators of Iowa, Urban Education Network, and the Council of Administrators of Special Education. Mr. Cretsinger has twice received the UIU Excellence In Teaching award (2011 & 2018). 

Amy Harmsen, Director of Technology

Amy Harmsen is the Director of Technology for the Marshalltown Community School District. She responsible for the technology infrastructure for Marshalltown Community School District. Mrs. Harmsen has over a decade of experience in educational technology. She arrived at MCSD from Grinnell-Newburg School District where she served as the Director of Technology.

Mrs. Harmsen's emphasis is on efficient management of student devices, as well as security. Mrs. Harmsen has a master’s degree in Curriculum and Instructional Technology from Iowa State University. She is passionate about providing access to content for all students through technology and working with staff to leverage technology in order to transform learning. She and her husband Todd have five children. Mrs. Harmsen enjoys attending her kids’ activities and coaching volleyball for a club team.



Copyright 2015-2023 Marshalltown Community School District