MHS Speech advances 8 events to State Large-Group Contest

Marshalltown High School’s Speech Team competed in Iowa High School Speech Association’s District Large Group Competition at Pella on Saturday, Jan. 22, with eight of the nine events earning Division I ratings and advancing to state.

Television News Broadcast with Philip Kuhlman, Therese Kuhlman, Jared Mills, Lauren Mills, Emily Barske, Christian Kremer, Jacob Schmidt, Jason Reimenschneider earned a Division I.

Two improv groups also earned I ratings:  Ashton Baardseth, Hannah Carter, and Jill Schoborg; and Jordan Olson and  Dean Oziah.

The script of Hush was used as material for the One Act Play, which featured Emily Nordstrom, Ryan Jensen, Zoe Harris, Annalisa Donahey, Joe Schoborg, and Matt Parson; and an ensemble acting scene with Shellie Robinson and Gwen Morrison.

Marissa Chase, Lily Larsen, Jordan Cline and Becca Klaas as members of the readers theatre, Bradbury Trilogy, will also go to state.

Musical theatre entry, Little Shop of Horrors, will advance with these singers: Joe Schoborg, Mallory McKay, Joe Cahill, Annalisa Donahey, Grace Franck, and Philip Kirner.

Radio News turned in a Division I performance; members are Shellie Robinson, Marissa Chase, Kathleen Ferrin, Stephanie Jones, Jared Mills, Jacob Schmidt, and Tomi Degrado.

Choral Reading, performing Pandora’s Box, received a Division II rating. Members are Jonathan Kirner, Jordan Cline, Randy Hansen, Cody Johnson, Tomi Degrado, Brittney Blocker, Brittany Ryerson, Sara Downs, Lily Larson, and Mykiela Tordoff.

The state competition will be at Cedar Rapids Kennedy High School on Feb. 5.