Three from MHS selected for All-State Individual Speech Festival

Three Marshalltown High School performers are nominated for the Iowa High School Speech Association All-State Individual Speech Festival Monday, March 28, at the University of Northern Iowa.

Shellie Robinson (prose reading), Gwen Morrison (Literary Program) and Annalisa Donahey (prose reading) will perform at this showcase of the best of the best in high school speech. Only two percent of the students who started at district contest finish as All-State performers.

The three All-State nominees were chosen based on their performances at the State Individual Speech Contest Saturday, March 12, at Vinton-Shellsburg High School. In all 10 MHS performers earned 12 Division I ratings at state: Zoe Harris (storytelling), Annalisa Donahey (prose and poetry), Becca Wunsch (prose), Gwen Morrison (acting and literary program), James Lindgren (radio news broadcasting), Maggie Halverson (acting and improvisation), Mallory McKay(solo musical theatre), Phillip Kuhlman (improvisation),  Shellie Robinson(prose), and Tomi DeGrado( after dinner speech).

Students who received Division II ratings were Jared Mills (public address), Lauren Mills (after dinner speaking), and Phillip Kuhlman (acting).