Four seats on the ballot for school board election on September 12

The Marshalltown Community School District will have four school board seats up for election during the September 12, 2017 school election.

The four seats are currently held by board members Kendall Derby, Ben Fletcher, Bea Niblock and Mike Miller.

Three of the seats up for election are four-year terms and one seat has two years remaining on the term. The first day to file nomination papers with MCSD Board Secretary Brian Bartz will be July 10. The deadline to file completed forms as a candidate is August 3, 2017.

To become a candidate
Those looking to be on the ballot for the September 12 election are required to complete an affidavit of candidacy and acquire 50 signatures from eligible voters in the school district.

The forms can be picked up currently from Brian Bartz at the school district offices at 1002. S. 3rd. Ave., the auditor’s office in the Marshall County Courthouse or via the Iowa Secretary of State’s website.

An affidavit of candidacy can be located at and a nomination petition can be located at

These completed forms would need to be returned to Brian Bartz, MCSD Board Secretary, 1002 S. 3rd. Ave., Marshalltown, Iowa, 50158 by 5 p.m. on August 3, 2017.

For more information, call the school district offices at 641-754-1000 or email