Marshalltown Schools staff honored at the end of the school year awards day


Marshalltown Schools Superintendent’s Star award winners for the 2018-19 school year are pictured with Superintendent Dr. Theron Schutte, left. From left are Angie Lovell, Mary Estrada, Reji Kurian, David Miller, David Stanfield and Stacey Tool-Crawford.

The Marshalltown Community School District all-staff end of the school year awards day was held on June 10 at the MHS/Community Auditorium.

Six receive Superintendent’s Star Awards

Mary Estrada
Mary Estrada is a teacher at Woodbury Elementary School. “Her relationship building abilities allow her to reach all her students and bring out the best in them, even on their worst day,” said Woodbury Principal Anel Garza.

Reji Kurian
Reji Kurian is a resource specialist at Marshalltown Learning Academy. “Reji is a fine role model, practices collaborative problem solving, repairs and builds lives, helps kids succeed, reduces barriers, and is a tremendous asset to our organization,” said MLA Principal Eric Goslinga.

Angie Lovell
Angie Lovell is a teacher at Lenihan Intermediate School. “She works to be a positive force wherever she goes. In the classroom, she is caring and building strong relationships while holding students to a high standard of learning and behavior,” said Lenihan retiring teacher Leah Mattox.

David Miller
David Miller works in food service at Marshalltown High School. “He is very dependable and hard-working. David is always friendly to students and staff. David is a tremendous asset to the Senior High kitchen team,” said MHS kitchen manager Calvin Scales.

David Stanfield
David Stanfield is the district’s instructional design specialist. “Dave works above and beyond to support teachers and administrators for the district,” said curriculum leader Pam Brewer-Michael

Stacey Tool-Crawford
Stacey Tool-Crawford is the MHS and district lead nurse. “She is kind, caring, compassionate, attentive, happy, positive, upbeat and uplifting,” said MHS Principal Jacque Wyant.



Employee of the Quarter award winners for the fourth quarter were, from left, Susan Eggleston, Erica Finders and Jessica Bethke.

Three receive Employee of the Quarter awards for fourth quarter

Jessica Bethke is a paraeducator in special education at Marshalltown High School.
She was nominated for the award by teachers Stephanie Kilker and Peter Nieland.

Susan Eggleston is a teacher at Rogers Elementary School. She was nominated by Rogers secretary Mary Verdugo.

Erica Finders is a curriculum and professional development leader for the elementary level in the district. She was nominated for the award by Elizabeth Overstake from Franklin Elementary School.

Service Awards

20 years


Those awarded for 20 years of service to Marshalltown Schools include, front row, from left, Kathryn Towns, Sandra Thomae, Debra Martin, Debra Corrick, Sue Cahill and Kenneth Hoffman. Back row, Janelle Hawk, Ryan O’Neal, Katherine Niedermann, Karen Mussig, Jennifer Allen, Rachel Inks and Jennifer Janssen. Not pictured are Susan Fritzell and Eric Goslinga.

25 years


Those recognized with 25 years of service to Marshalltown Schools included, front row, from left, Lori Ferneau, Maralyn Schulze, Kristy Jennings, Debra Holsapple and Angela Pierce. Back row, Todd Kluver, Bradley Weidenaar, Gary Mertens, Nancy Sills and Scott Smith. Not pictured was Jamie Wilson.

30 years


Hoglan custodian Loma Green recognized for 30 years to the district.

35 years


James Kopel of Buildings and Grounds recognized for 35 years in the district.